Keira Knightley.com Forums

Keira Knightley.com Forums (http://www.keiraknightley.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://www.keiraknightley.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   For those of you who know a lot about computers... (http://www.keiraknightley.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1205)

The Black Rider 12-12-2004 12:41 AM

For those of you who know a lot about computers...
 
Alright, I bought this PC game from my youth off of eBay the other day (Titanic: Adventure Out of Time; amazing game) but for some reason it refuses to load. Whenever I try to open it, I receive the following message (The heading of the message reads "16 bit Windows Subsystem."):

Quote:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.
I tried calling Tech Support, but the company that created the game is no longer in business. Does anyone have any idea how to possibly fix this?

ryan 12-12-2004 02:29 AM

your version of DOS doesn't like the way that game wants to be run. i had the same thing happen to me when i tried to run an Assembly language compiler on my computer, which uses XP sp2.

either try running it in DOS mode (DOS boot disk, etc) or sell the game, imo.

Flightfreak 12-12-2004 08:19 AM

I used to had that problem to, ive been testing with my fathers dental program on windows xp, but it didn’t work out.
anyway try this:http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;324767

Richard 12-12-2004 09:33 PM

I have that game. I beat it too, and paid $50 bucks for it. It really is amazing. :)

Anywho, I remember experiencing some problems with starting the game when I first got it as well, but that was years ago, and I haven't played it since. However, I do remember having to change my resolution to 800x600 16bit in order to properly play it, because of the video intro to the game. I really can't remember if I had that same problem you have.

You said you bought it off Ebay, was it brand new? Perhaps if it's used, the CD (didn't a floppy come with that game?) may be corrupted. Or it could be your computer. I remember having numerous malfunctions with many PC games I've installed in the past, and after I restored my computer into it's original position (the way it was when you bought it) everything always seemed to work fine.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
By appointment to HM Keira Knightley.