PDA

View Full Version : Hey, Computer Experts....


kingdumbass
27-09-2007, 04:12 AM
Can anyone tell me how I can find out if someone is using my wi-fi signal?
I notice the wireless light on my modem/router blinking furiously from time to time, even if I'm not using it at the moment, and when I check out my network settings, I see three things: my computer, my modem, and a mysterious connection called "Toshiba". When I attempt to view the properties of that last one, it asks me for a password, and won't let me in. Additionally, the Toshiba thing isn't always there.

Now, I don't necessarily care if someone is using my wi-fi, per se, but that's assuming that it doesn't affect ME in any negative way. For instance, could that anonymous user be slowing my connection speed, or fucking up my machine in any way? Or, it is his use of my signal totally benign?

Thankee, thankee.

Jacoby
27-09-2007, 04:51 AM
Someone's stealin' ur internetz.


Find and hurt them!

Liam
27-09-2007, 06:43 AM
Certainly sounds like it. I'd be changing the password(s) on the wi-fi and if possible move to a stronger encryption level.

While its probable that someone is just making use of your signal, theres no guarantee that their use is anything you would want to allow. A friend of mine was served with a cease and desist notice from a copyright enforcement agency, even though she had never downloaded any dodgy software, music or movies. Turned out that someone had been using her wi-fi to download torrents.

It could be worse - any open shares or ports can allow full access to your computer. Its not something I would allow to continue.

hasselbrad
27-09-2007, 12:48 PM
I have a Toshiba laptop...with wireless capability.
:rolleyes:

frodo1511
27-09-2007, 03:13 PM
Huh...over the summer, where my parent's place has lousy DSL service, I "stole" a couple people's wi-fi signals (depending on what part of the house my laptop was in, I'd get a different signal). This persisted for a couple months, until, when I went back home for the weekend last week, the signals (finally) put up encryption so I couldn't borrow their signal.

If I had a wireless router of my own, I'd put up at least some form of encryption on it, so people like me wouldn't borrow the signal and download tons of stuff for free. College kids are poor, have to get our necessities somehow.

DanMan
27-09-2007, 11:10 PM
I have a Toshiba laptop...with wireless capability.
:rolleyes:


Ha Ha! So are you hinting you have loooooong range snooping
capability...mmmm maybe all the way to King's neck of the woods? :icon_lol:

Spartan117warrior
27-09-2007, 11:38 PM
Well actually for me, the blinking light doesn't necessarily mean someone is stealing your interwebs. I had a (non wireless) Comcast cable modem and the light blinked all the time, whether the computer was on or not. The only time it didn't blink was when I didn't have any intarnets.

Digital_Ice
28-09-2007, 12:11 AM
your computer will often be using the internet even if your not, especially if you're using XP.

kingdumbass
28-09-2007, 02:09 AM
Well, I'm talking even when the machine is shut off....
And what's a good way for me to block this person without making it too complicated for other devices on my network to continue functioning? For instance, I don't want to add encryption, and then suddenly have XBox and Wii stop connecting because of it. Is it easy to do?

Digital_Ice
28-09-2007, 03:03 AM
you dont have any encyption?!?!?! no f**king wonder you have random people wardriving you. lol

You should have a WEP key minimum, and your XBOX etc will still connect, all you have to do is tell the xbox the WEP key.

I'd recomend WPA-PSK for most networks, and even though it isnt foolproof, it will deter most people. But its something you can set it up without buying any new kit.

What make and model is your router?

kingdumbass
28-09-2007, 05:45 AM
I do have a WEP key, actually....
And I've got a Zoom X6 DSL modem/router combo.

KeiraIsFIT
28-09-2007, 08:09 PM
Just give it a password so people cant get on

i sometimes use free internet from a neighbours house...strong signal...despite it being the other side of a road @ least 10 metres wide

dave
28-09-2007, 08:53 PM
Don't be an Arse. Leave it open, but protect your shared resources. Always assume that your network has been compromised.

Don't bother to worry about your neighbors and street people using your network. Let them.

This is my Unix upbringing. The Web is free. You protect the stuff on your machine that needs protecting, and share the rest. I do. You PC people have absolutely no realization of the history of the Internet AND no souls.

If you had to Pay For all the Unix stuff you use, you wouldn't be able to afford a computer, and you would still be typing in DOS commands in "Tiny Basic". Just think of this as your opportunity to Pay Back some of what you owe.

Of course, following that advice is a lot safer if you are driving a Macintosh, Sun, HP, or Linux Box. The reason for that is that the PC types shit in their own nest and have loosed a whole nest of inconsiderate uneducated Hillbilly Kids on the network. Deal with it, but don't worry overmuch about those guys stealing a little bandwidth.

Just how fast can you type that you are worried about it? On a good day I can hit 100wpm, and I can't overrun my buffers, can you? You don't actually believe that someone on a 54K Wi-Fi link is going to slow down a 756K DSL Modem, do you?

1) Change your Groupname away from MSHOME That will stop most of your problems. If you don't know how to do that, enroll in a 101 level Computer Class.

Spartan117warrior
28-09-2007, 09:01 PM
Don't be an Arse. Leave it open, but protect your shared resources. Always assume that your network has been compromised.

Don't bother to worry about your neighbors and street people using your network. Let them.

This is my Unix upbringing. The Web is free. You protect the stuff on your machine that needs protecting, and share the rest. I do. You PC people have absolutely no realization of the history of the Internet AND no souls.

If you had to Pay For all the Unix stuff you use, you wouldn't be able to afford a computer. Just think of this as your opportunity to Pay Back some of what you owe.

That's funny. It really is. I almost rolled off my chair laughing. If the web was free, we wouldn't have a need for telecommunications companies like Comcast and AT&T to be paid to give our internets.

And also consider the notion that some people consider it stealing if you use their open connection, secured or not. While it's still being debated in the courts whether an unsecured access point is fair game, if you use someone else's access point, at least slip a few dollar into their mailbox to compesate. That's not paying, that's just being nice.

dave
28-09-2007, 10:13 PM
If the web was free, we wouldn't have a need for telecommunications companies like Comcast and AT&T to be paid to give our internets.

The City of Rio Rancho is covered by a free Wi-Fi Mesh network. Nobody pays.

I have some telephone plan where it is $38.12/ month. Do I care? My telephone bill used to average $100.00/mo all by itself. Now I can receive unlimited incoming calls, unlimited 800 outgoing, $0.10/min outgoing local calls, and 756K DSL actually running at
Your current download speed is: 523.00kbps.

I bought the box for SKYPE, but I haven't gotten around to setting up one of my Junque computers to run it on. But, unlimited phone service for $29.00/year seems to blow AT&T away.

With a quick search I'll bet I could list over 20 towns with free Internet NOT COUNTING almost every single Indian Pueblo in New Mexico. You do have better service than their shared T1 lines that they have in their mud huts don't you? Of course you do that's why you worry about someone "stealing" 54K of it!

Get Real!

Digital_Ice
28-09-2007, 10:25 PM
The difference is though, Unix is awesome. Windows is as leaky as a sieve. protecting your resources is not as easy as it sounds on windows. its all very well us computer nerds spouting all this junk, but when it comes to the average user they want simplicity.

Spartan117warrior
28-09-2007, 10:38 PM
The City of Rio Rancho is covered by a free Wi-Fi Mesh network. Nobody pays.

I have some telephone plan where it is $38.12/ month. Do I care? My telephone bill used to average $100.00/mo all by itself. Now I can receive unlimited incoming calls, unlimited 800 outgoing, $0.10/min outgoing local calls, and 756K DSL actually running at
Your current download speed is: 523.00kbps.

I bought the box for SKYPE, but I haven't gotten around to setting up one of my Junque computers to run it on. But, unlimited phone service for $29.00/year seems to blow AT&T away.

With a quick search I'll bet I could list over 20 towns with free Internet NOT COUNTING almost every single Indian Pueblo in New Mexico. You do have better service than their shared T1 lines that they have in their mud huts don't you? Of course you do that's why you worry about someone "stealing" 54K of it!

Get Real!

Actually I couldn't secure the line I'm on right now even if I wanted to. One: it's already secured by a VPN, Two: There are at least 15k people on it, and Three: My school's T3 is slower than dial up sometimes because of people playing Xbox Live over it.

dave
28-09-2007, 10:51 PM
The difference is though, Unix is awesome. Windows is as leaky as a sieve. protecting your resources is not as easy as it sounds on windows. its all very well us computer nerds spouting all this junk, but when it comes to the average user they want simplicity.

Simplicity is Zonealarm.com and it is free for home use. Total Control.

For Virus avast.com and it is free for home use. Total Protection.

And I also actually bought something called SUPERantispyware from, you guessed it! SUPERantispyware.com a whole $9.00. And it is free for home use. I bought it because I used it to remove a particularly nasty bug my machine caught awhile back. I haven't had any problems since.

Oh, yeah, the one I learned about from some exotic Super Computing Guru's on a weird little website called KeiraKnightley.com. I run it every so often. It's called HitManPro, I think. It's also free for home use. At it's heart is the number one Free for home use AdAware program.

And there's one more free one you should have in your toolbox, Eusing Free Registry Cleaner. http://www.eusing.com/free_registry_cleaner/registry_cleaner.htm

Once you get away from the PC world, the web is Free.

It's interesting that Ubuntu Linux has yet to have it's first virus attack and it's blazingly fast on older hardware. Firefox is there, and you can get a free installation DVD on almost any copy of Linux Today magazine. Instead people pay a couple hundred dollars to Microsoft for an OS and then pay another hundred dollars for "Norton" Utilities to plug the holes in their Microsoft OS AND Norton is a wholly owned subsidiary of Microsoft...

Digital_Ice
29-09-2007, 11:23 AM
norton? eurgh.

i completly agree with you on this one, except i use avg not avast, and spybot s&d not superantispyware.

theres a hell of a lot more kit i could recommend if people are interested.

plus I've been "trained" in trawling through HJT logs if anyone has a problem.

one thing is. norton is owned by symantec. it's not in the least bit connected to microsoft. infact the two companies have sued each other on numerous occasions.

Hazzle
29-09-2007, 12:31 PM
one thing is. norton is owned by symantec. it's not in the least bit connected to microsoft. infact the two companies have sued each other on numerous occasions.

Yep. I believe Microsoft did TRY and buy Symantec but failed. They do own a stake in the company, I think, but nothing big. Certainly not enough to stop Symantec suing Microsoft ;).

Some suggestions I'd make:

AVG Anti-virus is "lighter" than Avast in terms of resources and also in my experience better at detecting problems. The updates can be a bit buggy sometimes but it's rare.

AVG Anti-Spyware (previously Ewido) - Free version. Fantastic at catching trojans. I've done a bit of research and found that layering the two AVG products achieves a standard of protection comparable to Kaspersky's. Considering that both products are free that's pretty damn impressive.

CCleaner (not really security software but good for reg cleanup etc). Another good product that I use for cleanup is EasyCleaner. It has a few more options than CCleaner but is not as intuitive.

Ad-Aware and Spybot are staples as on-demand scanners but are apparently the evolution of spyware and adware has meant they are not good enough as primary "active" protection. My experience would highly recommend Spyware Terminator for this job.

However the old "prevention is better than cure" adage applies so I like to use SpywareBlaster (prevents installation of Active-X based spyware). The same company makes SpywareGuard which I also have begun using. This is another "preventative" anti-spyware that catches and blocks spyware before it can infect your computer. Since I've gone for "prevention" I haven't had an infection yet.

Finally if all else fails I like to use SuperAntiSpyware for removal. Research when I was infected in the past (before I began layering protection) showed me that often when people reported stuff in HJT logs and tried other software to remove stubborn infections, they failed and were recommended to try SuperAntiSpyware. So far I've not been able to test if really is as good as they claim at removing infections since I've not had an infection but no harm in having it there if I need it.

Although those are based on my own experiences I owe the discovery of many of those products to this fantastic review : http://www.techsupportalert.com/best_46_free_utilities.htm

Spartan117warrior
29-09-2007, 10:32 PM
I use Spybot S&D and it prevents problems just fine. I try to keep it as up-to-date as possible. Every time I scan my lappy, I never get any detections. I also use McAfee SecurityCenter. It isn't half bad. It hasn't ever actually found a virus or other problems on my lappy, but updating can really tax your system, and the scans seem to last longer than they should. But it's free so I can't complain too much.

Hazzle
29-09-2007, 11:27 PM
I use Spybot S&D and it prevents problems just fine. I try to keep it as up-to-date as possible. Every time I scan my lappy, I never get any detections.

Wouldn't say that that necessarily means you're clean (although you probably are). I think Trend Micro's Housecall catches Spyware that may not be detected by your own software so I'd give that a spin, just to be sure. A lot really depends on how you use your computer, a lot of needless problems can be avoided just by being sensible (not opening email if you don't recognise the sender etc). Oh, and yeah, avoiding attachments isn't enough, some malware can be executed just by opening emails so be careful what you open. The safer your own practises, the less need for security you have.

Digital_Ice
30-09-2007, 12:11 AM
Norton is a wholly owned subsidiary of Microsoft...

Yep. I believe Microsoft did TRY and buy Symantec but failed. They do own a stake in the company, I think, but nothing big. Certainly not enough to stop Symantec suing Microsoft ;).

There;s a huuuuuuuuuuge difference between "wholly owned subsidiary" and owning a stake in a company, i own stock of quite a few companies, but if i "wholly owned" them, i'd run them a hell of a lot differently.... and i swear "wholly" is a spelling error... but then i am dyslexic. so meh

Hazzle
30-09-2007, 12:15 AM
There;s a huuuuuuuuuuge difference between "wholly owned subsidiary" and owning a stake in a company, i own stock of quite a few companies, but if i "wholly owned" them, i'd run them a hell of a lot differently.... and i swear "wholly" is a spelling error... but then i am dyslexic. so meh

Exactly. It's not a spelling error. You're just a retard. And drunk. But still smarter than Dave.

Digital_Ice
30-09-2007, 12:16 AM
im not *that* drunk.... i thought it was wrong when i was sober.

Hazzle
30-09-2007, 12:20 AM
Which would be the "retard" part. http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/wholly

Digital_Ice
30-09-2007, 12:23 AM
Which would be the "retard" part. http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/wholly

screw you
http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/dyslexic

Mandy
30-09-2007, 12:27 AM
*hugs Ice*


mwah.

Hazzle
30-09-2007, 12:30 AM
As I said on MSN, one of my best friends is dyslexic and I mock him. It buys you no sympathy from me. I'd mock a blind man slipping on a banana skin. http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/bastard+

frodo1511
30-09-2007, 01:29 AM
I use McAfee Security Center (anti-virus, spyware, firewall), spybot, CCleaner, aSquared, SpywareBlaster, Wise-Disk & Registry Cleaner, and AusLogics Disk Defrager.


Haz, you think I'm missing anything terribly important?

Hazzle
30-09-2007, 03:44 PM
Wouldn't call myself an expert but I'd say that looks ok. I'd say "ad-aware" is a must-have, though. Spyware Terminator wouldn't hurt, but isn't "essential". Has caught stuff that neither Spybot or Ad-aware caught though, and I've heard that with the HIPs (Host Intrustion Prevention System) you're pretty much watertight (apparently it was tested on websites with known spyware infections and the test computers remained clean). I use O & O defrag, but I'd say any defrag software that ISN'T the windows standard is good. So long as you can defrag the pagefile you're good to go.

frodo1511
30-09-2007, 04:47 PM
Ad-Aware 2k7 never seems to want to install for me. I constantly get a "1920 warning" when I try to install it, and when I go on Lavasoft's forums, no one seems to know what the problem is. I'll def. check out the Ahnuld program, though, and continue to see what's wrong with AAW.

Digital_Ice
30-09-2007, 10:14 PM
it's a known problem, the latest version is buggy as hell. a couple of tricks to try, firstly, re-register the vb runtimes with start > run "regsvr32 %SystemRoot%\system32\vbscript.dll"

if that doesn't work, run the installer with the "/passive" flag to bypass all the installation options. It does mean however, that the installer will use all the default options, including automatically rebooting if necessary.

if they dont work, i'll dig through my server for an older version for you.

Hazzle
30-09-2007, 10:52 PM
And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why he's God and Jesus rolled into one. Single too, ladies...

frodo1511
01-10-2007, 12:00 AM
it's a known problem, the latest version is buggy as hell. a couple of tricks to try, firstly, re-register the vb runtimes with start > run "regsvr32 %SystemRoot%\system32\vbscript.dll"

if that doesn't work, run the installer with the "/passive" flag to bypass all the installation options. It does mean however, that the installer will use all the default options, including automatically rebooting if necessary.

if they dont work, i'll dig through my server for an older version for you.



I aprreciate your concern, Ice. I tried the vbscrpit trick and the passive flag, no dice. I'll just wait for Lavasoft to get their thumbs out of their asses and fix it.

Spartan117warrior
01-10-2007, 02:44 AM
I aprreciate your concern, Ice. I tried the vbscrpit trick and the passive flag, no dice. I'll just wait for Lavasoft to get their thumbs out of their asses and fix it.

I think one thing hardcore computer techs (and I am by no means a part of that group) learned is to rarely rely on the company to fix stuff.

Digital_Ice
01-10-2007, 02:51 AM
indeed. its often easier and a hell of a lot quicker to fix it yourself.

Spartan117warrior
01-10-2007, 03:34 AM
I mean, I think that's how Spybot came around (don't quote me, I'm not sure). Someone got fed up with spyware, didn't like the exisiting anti-spyware stuff out there, so he made his own.

Now we have people looking at the code for Halo 3 just to figure out how to unlock skulls and stuff like that.

frodo1511
01-10-2007, 11:19 AM
I think one thing hardcore computer techs (and I am by no means a part of that group) learned is to rarely rely on the company to fix stuff.


Well, someone other then me better fix it. I'm too retarded to know what's broken and what's not.

Keira lover
09-10-2007, 08:49 PM
one thing is. norton is owned by symantec. it's not in the least bit connected to microsoft. infact the two companies have sued each other on numerous occasions.


Everyone has sued or is suing Microsoft:

Apple
Norton
The EU
The US Government (a couple of times, at least)
Opera
Aol
Sun Microsystems
the list goes on and on.

I need a life, don't I?

Ranman
09-10-2007, 08:59 PM
I need a life, don't I?

The world needs idiots too, so there is a place for you

Hazzle
09-10-2007, 11:20 PM
Everyone has sued or is suing Microsoft

What's your point, dumbfuck? Notice a key name missing from your list? Like Microsoft themselves? Unless I'm mistaken Ice's point was that Microsoft can't be Symantec's parent company because they've been sued by Symantec (which makes sense). Fuck off back to that hole you came from.

Digital_Ice
10-10-2007, 12:04 AM
little more subtle than i'd have put it, but thanks.

Hazzle
10-10-2007, 12:20 AM
little more subtle than i'd have put it, but thanks.

One good turn deserves another. Plus I like putting idiots back in their cages.