PDA

View Full Version : "Overclocking your Laptop for Dummies" needed...


frodo1511
04-07-2006, 03:55 AM
Situation: Toshiba Satellie A45 laptop. 2.8GHTz P4 processor. Want to overclock it to 3GHTz, and possibly other parts of my system.

Problem: Can't find the BIOS screen. When I boot up, there is no "Press "this key" to goto BIOS screen" message on the bottom of the display. Is there another way to get there, or am I fucked?

Liam
04-07-2006, 06:33 AM
You will be fucked if you attempt to overclock a laptop. Reliable overclocking in most cases requires specialised cooling. Laptops have a bare minimum of cooling as it is and pressing the system harder than its designed limits will cause all manner of issues.

Even on a specialised cooler in an exceptionally well ventilated case a modest 200Mhz overclock on my old Athlon 1.4Ghz-C resulted in an 8 degree idle temperature increase. In a cramped laptop case with a stock cooler you will finish up with 20+ degree increases which will only bring instability and crashing.

You wont even notice a 200Mhz overclock on a 2.8Ghz processor. A step from 2.8 to 3Ghz is next to nothing these days and the miniscule increase in gaming performance (I assume this is your reason for overclocking) isnt worth the risk involved.

ryan
04-07-2006, 11:15 AM
ist a fucking laptop...dont overclock it


and most laptops are built by companies with company specific bios', which are sure to lock cpu multipliers and FSB speeds. that = no overclocking

devine kk
04-07-2006, 12:29 PM
wtf is overclocking??

frodo1511
04-07-2006, 03:57 PM
Ok then, I will probably not overclock this thing then. I just wanted to try to keep up with all the new Intel Core Duos out there, as mine is single core.



Even so, how do I get to the BIOS screen in the first place if I have no prompt on startup?

gotasmoke
04-07-2006, 04:11 PM
Try this:

1. Turn on computer by Holding down power button while pressing the ESC key.
The machine will beep, then display:
Check System, then press [F1] key.
2. Release ESC key
3. Press F1 key

Digital_Ice
04-07-2006, 06:15 PM
firstly. dont overclock it. simple as that.

as far as the bios goes, its usually the "del" key for a tosh, but if not try f1.

Liam
04-07-2006, 07:21 PM
Its F2 on mine.

Besides, once applications are written for dual core processors (coming towards the end of this year) your single core will be left in the dust, no matter how much you overclock it.

Bullitt
04-07-2006, 07:50 PM
no, you can pull up your BIOS, it might even by F8 but I might be mistaken.

Digital_Ice
04-07-2006, 08:19 PM
f8 is the boot menu. not the bios.

frodo1511
04-07-2006, 09:06 PM
Heh i don't think you understand how dual cores work and what the advantage of a dual core is. Overclocking your single core would not help.


I understand this, but now I'm pissed that AMD and Intel are heavily investing in Duo and X2 cores. I feel so 2005:(

frodo1511
04-07-2006, 09:14 PM
OK, now completely different set of questions coming at ya:


Situation: iPod Video...want to put DVDs onto it, instead of buying shit off of iTunes, like music videos and stuff. I'm talking Batman Begins-type operations.


Problem: unfamiliar with DVD Shrink, Videora and Handbrake. Apparently, Handbrake for Mac is a godsend, but Handbrake 0.7 for Windows is rather tricky. Assistance in decrypting a DVD and putting it on my iPod requested.

ryan
04-07-2006, 10:31 PM
getting to the BIOS means nothing. you will not be able to change the FSB speed and you sure as shit wont be able to change the multiplier...they probably wont even list it.

no change to FSB or cpu multiplier = no cpu overclock

Hazzle
04-07-2006, 11:43 PM
Frodo I wouldn't bother. Battery life playing back the video will be no more than 2 hours and any decent movie will be longer than that.

frodo1511
05-07-2006, 03:45 AM
Frodo I wouldn't bother. Battery life playing back the video will be no more than 2 hours and any decent movie will be longer than that.


I wanted to have at least one good movie to watch while I'm off at college, since I doubt I'll bring my 5.1 system with me, and I don't feel like buying another player. Do you have a 5th gen iPod, Hazzle, as it sounds like you've had some experience in the ordeal?


No matter, I found DVD Shrink and Videora for my system, and they work wonders. Handbrake, in its Windows pre-beta form, has a shittly GLI, and I really didn't want to re-learn DOS to fuck around with the CLI.

Hazzle
05-07-2006, 11:26 AM
Do you have a 5th gen iPod, Hazzle, as it sounds like you've had some experience in the ordeal?

Yes, yes I do.

Videora is fucking CLASS. That's what I use. But then I only ever use it to watch hour-long TV shows so the battery life isn't an issue.

You not taking your laptop to college with you? Or has it not got a DVD reader?

frodo1511
05-07-2006, 09:47 PM
Yes, yes I do.

Videora is fucking CLASS. That's what I use. But then I only ever use it to watch hour-long TV shows so the battery life isn't an issue.

You not taking your laptop to college with you? Or has it not got a DVD reader?


It has a DVD-ROM/CD-RW drive, it just does not read DVDs anymore. Burned too much music too quickly, and now it can't read any DVD I put in it.

We'll talk in private...

Digital_Ice
05-07-2006, 10:08 PM
We'll talk in private...

oh eh? :icon_err:

why not just swap out the dvd-drive with a new one? you can get them on ebay for about £30

frodo1511
06-07-2006, 02:43 AM
oh eh? :icon_err:

why not just swap out the dvd-drive with a new one? you can get them on ebay for about £30



I really don't want to do that right now...I'm actually planning on getting a better laptop rather soon, so I'll just manage swapping what I need from my desktop to my laptop and vice-versa.

frodo1511
06-07-2006, 05:44 AM
Ok, I've had my iPod question answered by Hazzle...
NEXT QUESTION!


What is the best way to transfer huge files from one computer to another? We're talking in excess of 5 gig files. Does ethernet-to-ethernet connections work, or do I need to burn everything to a CD?

Liam
06-07-2006, 06:22 AM
Cat 6 crossover cable.

Plug into ethernet port on each computer and away you go.

frodo1511
06-07-2006, 06:37 AM
Figures
Thanks, Liam