PDA

View Full Version : Tax Season

Mandy
16-03-2006, 04:19 PM
So it's that time of year again, and God knows what a procrastinator about it I am. I was supposed to go with my mother today to get ours done, but it seems I've got a case of strep throat and I'm not in a condition to drive an hour.

I'm telling my mom that I'm thinking of doing them online, but I've never done them before and she's worried that it'll become tax fraud and I'll go to prison (my mom thinks like that). Does anyone here do their taxes online? If so, with what program/site?

marine
16-03-2006, 04:51 PM
this is one of the few advantages of being a jobless student, I don't have to worry about taxes. Hope you won't end up in jail :p

Liam
16-03-2006, 05:09 PM
The Tax Department here are more lenient towards errors for people who use the online software. Only use official software provided by the government, or you deserve to have you tax return stolen.

Leonie
16-03-2006, 05:10 PM
Mum does what little tax stuff I have to do :icon_bigg I wouldn't know...

Mandy
16-03-2006, 05:35 PM
Yeah, makes me miss living at home.

hasselbrad
16-03-2006, 06:19 PM
You're pretty. You'll be very popular in prison. :p

Seriously, the online tax stuff works fine. If I'm not mistaken, the IRS may even have an online doomaflopper that you can use for the 1040EZ. Since I'm currently living in a dumpster, I don't have any deductions, and therefore use the EZ form. Actually, I think their doomaflopper is a phone based touchtone deal.
Anyway, Turbotax works like a charm.

And, I'd be remiss if I didn't pimp this...

www.fairtax.org

seventhson
16-03-2006, 06:54 PM
I've got a case of strep throat and I'm not in a condition to drive an hour.

I hope you feel better soon.